PDA

View Full Version : problem calculating xp

victorcrossman
2015-01-14, 02:08 PM
One of my players made a wizard who made a bomb big enough to destroy a large city. He launched it onto a castle which had 875 bugbears inside we ended the night there and i haven't tried to calculate xp should i give him xp for all of the bugbears?

Spanish_Paladin
2015-01-14, 03:04 PM
I am no expert in dungeons but i remember that there is a maximun number of creatures you can kill before it becomes rutine, on that point this type of creature is worth of no px. However if these bugbears were unaware of the attack i wouldn't give them the maximum px.

p.d. sorry for my crappy english

Comet
2015-01-14, 03:20 PM
If this wizard can obliterate entire fortresses with any regularity, I don't think he's going to do much with bugbear xp so just give him whatever.
On the other hand, if he's level 1 you should definitely give him xp for every single one of those bugbears. Because he's obviously very good at killing things and if you're going to reward that you should go all out.

ewoods
2015-01-14, 03:28 PM
I would reward this as one encounter with a fortress rather than an encounter with 875 bugbears. In my mind, he didn't actually kill the bugbears, he destroyed the fortress, which then had the effect of killing the bugbears. I would try to assign a challenge rating to destroy the fortress similar to the way you would with a trap. How difficult was it to destroy? Was it a simple matter of igniting the poorly-placed armory with a fireball, or did the party have to go gather supplies, roll crafting checks, dig a tunnel over the course of several days, and get out before the explosion killed them too?

Honest Tiefling
2015-01-14, 03:32 PM