PDA

View Full Version : Houserules: What works, what doesn't, what do you want to try?

janusmaxwell
2015-01-20, 05:50 PM
I'm a newbie DM (very very new) and at my (much more experienced) players insistence, the Sorcerer in my first game has Intimidate, Diplomacy and Sense Motive as class skills instead of just Bluff. Though I can't remember now if I actually did tell him Sense Motive could be a Class skill with the others...

Anyway, everybody agreed that making the Sorcerer have only Bluff was stupid and I said sure. I'm curious about what other House-Rules that DM's have used that worked well, were broken as heck, or are curious to try/experiment with.

Darrin
2015-01-20, 07:55 PM
I'm a newbie DM (very very new) and at my (much more experienced) players insistence, the Sorcerer in my first game has Intimidate, Diplomacy and Sense Motive as class skills instead of just Bluff. Though I can't remember now if I actually did tell him Sense Motive could be a Class skill with the others...

Anyway, everybody agreed that making the Sorcerer have only Bluff was stupid and I said sure. I'm curious about what other House-Rules that DM's have used that worked well, were broken as heck, or are curious to try/experiment with.

That's a popular houserule for Sorcerers. I would also give them a bonus metamagic, bloodline, or heritage feat at 1st, 5th, 10th, 15th, and 20th, to bring them a little closer to wizards.

I have about 7 pages of house rules (mostly trying to make the "filler feats" worth taking), but the one rule that keeps showing up in all our 3.5 campaigns:

Use your Ref save bonus for Initiative rolls. (I am puzzled why this never showed up in 4E, 'cuz... duh!)

Vegan Zombie
2015-01-20, 08:52 PM
A house rule my group implemented to help skill monkeys was to combine several skills:

Spot + Listen = Perception (thanks 4ed!)
Hide + Move Silently = Stealth (2 rolls every time is lame)
Disable Device + Open Lock = Disable Device (locks are devices right?)