PDA

View Full Version : Arcanum

Spacehamster
2015-01-26, 02:13 AM
Hello playground

Is there any tabletop rpg similar to the old PC rpg Arcanum: of steamworks and magic obscura?

Corsair
2015-01-26, 02:40 PM
I'd also be interested if there is. For those who don't know, Arcanum was a CRPG from the early 2000s that was set in a world that was sort of like if standard D&D went into a Victorian-style Industrial Revolution with all that comes with that, with the additional caveat that since Magic screwed with the laws of physics Magic and Technology were violently opposed to one another, with stuff like Mages getting violently sick near trains and clocks starting to skip or run backwards when powerful magic presences were nearby.

Looking at it, you could probably represent it pretty well with D&D, but I'm not sure how one would go about implementing the Magic/Technology rivalry. I'm no game designer, but I would probably have a setup of Auras - powerful tech has an aura that causes Caster Levels to drop the closer they get, while Mages have an aura that have a chance to cause Technological devices to critically fail, getting stronger by proximity and strength of the Mage or Magic field.

Orderic
2015-01-26, 03:40 PM
While it does not have the opposition of magic and technology, the Dragonmech Setting for D&D contains quite a lot of steam technology.

Also, mechs. Steampowered mechs.

the_david
2015-01-26, 05:30 PM
It's kinda hard to decide what would work best, and it depends on what parts of Arcanum you want to use.