View Full Version : Question on Black Tentacles

2007-04-05, 08:39 AM
Do the tentacles attempt a grapple against any target in the area of effect each round?

Example: Bob the cleric is in the dead center of the tentacle spread when it appears. By a miracle, he is not grappled on round one. On round two, he moves, at half movement rate per the spell, but doesn't quite make it out of the area. Do the tentacles get another attempt to grapple?

2007-04-05, 08:47 AM
yes they do. as long as he is in the area of effect, he is still under the effects of the spell

Shhalahr Windrider
2007-04-05, 08:49 AM
For some reason the sage ruled that the phrase, "Every creature within the area of the spell must make a grapple check..." only applies to the creatures within the area the moment the spell is cast and therefore the tentacles can't try to grapple every round.

But I don't see how you can get that with the wording. As far as I'm concerned, they do grapple anyone in the area each and every round, regardless of the success or failure of previous attempts.