PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Enchant clarification

Shnigda
2015-02-19, 04:22 PM
Hi everyone, I am fairly new to DnD (playing for just under a year, but only played 3.5 for 4 months or so) and I have a question about the prices for armour enchants.

I understand that a standard +1 item (longsword, chainmail etc...) costs 2000gp (+ masterwork item cost) and that a +2 item costs 8000gp. I also understand that to upgrade from a +1 to a +2 you pay the difference (so in that case you would pay 3000gp).

However, my question is about enchants that say the cost is equivalent to a +1 bonus. Does that mean that it costs 2000gp (equal to the cost of a standard +1 longsword/chainmail etc...) or does it mean that the cost is equivalent to taking it to the next enchantment level (from +1 to +2 (so 6000gp) or from +2 to +3 (so 10000gp) etc...)?

Also, if I wanted another +1 enchant on an item, such as a +1 flaming longsword (so there is the equivalent of 2 +1 enchants on it), what would the cost be?

(I realise that this is a bit garbled and possibly difficult to follow, but any help would be much appreciated)

EDIT: Prices

OldTrees1
2015-02-19, 04:26 PM
You first calculate the effective bonus.
Ex: A +2 Flaming sword would cost the same as a +3 sword because flaming counts as a +1 to the total.

Then you find the price
Ex: A +3 sword costs (3^2)*2,000 = 18,000gp (remember weapons cost twice as much as armor/shields)

To find the upgrade price you subtract the existing market price from the upgraded version's market price
Ex: A +1 sword -> +1 flaming sword(costs same as a +2sword) would cost 8,000-2,000=6,000gp to upgrade

Shnigda
2015-02-19, 04:33 PM
So when an enchant says the price is a+1 bonus, it means that the price is the cost it would be to take an item to the next enchant level? eg the price could be 6000gp to take it from a total of +1 enchants to a total of +2 enchants, or 10000gp to take it from a total of +2 enchants to a total of +3 enchants, and so on?