PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Help me make a sniper.

Joe Eskimo
2015-02-22, 12:59 AM
I'm new to 5e and this'll be the first character I make and I want him to be a sniper. I'd like to make a plan for at least 5th level. He'll probably be a human for the extra feat, and featswise, Sharpshooter is definately in and most probably Skulker. Thing is, I'm not sure what class would be best for him. Fighter? Rogue? Ranger? Any help or info would be appreciated. I'm loving 5e so far.

EDIT: I forgot to say he uses a longbow.

Giant2005
2015-02-22, 01:08 AM
Does he have to use a Longbow? You can get a significantly higher range with Eldritch Blast.

Sidmen
2015-02-22, 01:15 AM
Honestly? Both Ranger and Fighter will work up to level 5. If you plan on going beyond that, I suggest Fighter for the extra attacks, but that could be because I haven't familiarized myself with the Ranger's spell list. Colossus Slayer (Ranger) is quite nice, though.

In my game, our current sniper is an Assassin Rogue. Her Sneak Attack damage and ability to hide as a bonus action make her deadly and dangerous - fading into nothing only to reappear and inflict tremendous damage.

In all cases, your primary stat is Dexterity, of course.

Turalisj
2015-02-22, 01:15 AM
Rogue, assassin, high dexterity, longbow, sharpshooter feat.

Oscredwin
2015-02-22, 01:17 AM
Rogue, assassin, high dexterity, longbow, sharpshooter feat.

Yep, this. One arrow, from hiding, gets sneak attack, and a guaranteed crit, at long range.

Joe Eskimo
2015-02-22, 01:18 AM
Pretty much. I want a character that can "spit a man at a hundred paces" or more. :smallbiggrin: Also Long range for a longbow is 600 ft. Eldritch spear is 300 ft. if I'm not mistaken.

Oscredwin
2015-02-22, 01:20 AM
Pretty much. I want a character that can "spit a man at a hundred paces" or more. :smallbiggrin: Also Long range for a longbow is 600 ft. Eldritch spear is 300 ft. if I'm not mistaken.

Eldritch Spear and spell sniper work for crazy long range.