PDA

View Full Version : New Player Race: Harpy

DracoKnight
2015-03-04, 06:14 AM
So I want to put Harpies in as a player race for a campaign I'm going to start running soon. This is my first time being a DM, and I honestly have no idea if Harpies are in the game as monsters. Wondering honestly if what I've built is overpowered, please let me know if it is. Or if you just have general thoughts/comments, those are welcome too :D

Player Race: Harpy

Ability Score Increase. Your Dexterity increases by 2, and your Charisma increases by 1.
Age. Harpies can live for hundreds of years.
Alignment. Harpies tend towards the chaotic, with no particular bent towards good or evil.
Size. You stand between 5' and 6' tall. Your size is Medium.
Speed. Your base walking speed is 35.
Aerial Beings. You have a flying speed of 60.
Natural Weapons. Your hands bear wickedly curved claws. Your unarmed strikes do 1d6 damage.
Piercing Shriek. You let out a sound unheard by all but an unlucky few. This shriek is a 60ft. cone, and all creatures within that cone must make an Intelligence saving throw. The save DC for this is 10 + your Charisma modifier + your proficiency bonus. On a failed save, affected creatures take 2d4 psychic damage, and half as much on a successful one. The damage increases to 3d6 at 6th level, 4d6 at 11th level, and 5d6 at 15th level.
Languages. You can read, write, and speak Common and Sylvan.

Ralanr
2015-03-04, 12:28 PM
Why a ground speed of 35 and a fly speed of 60? Is that what their speed is in the book? Cause this makes them the fastest race.

Why does the shriek change from a d4 to a d6 at level 3?

DracoKnight
2015-03-04, 04:00 PM
Thank you for catching the d6 mess up. I totally missed that, because I changed it about 5 or 6 times. And thank you for pointing out the speed issue. I have now nerfed the fly speed to what it is in the book. Did everything else seem okay?

Ability Score Increase. Your Dexterity increases by 2, and your Charisma increases by 1.