PDA

View Full Version : Character help: barbarian, druid, and ranger

j_spencer93
2015-04-16, 10:08 AM
Ok for an upcoming campaign my players are wanting to use the classes mentioned above but want some help making their characters more viable and worth while. So i am asking for some advice, since I am new at 5.0. feats/races/whatever.

Barbarian- Deal damage, take a crap ton himself.

Druid- utility, support his allies. Don't think there is much i can do with this one.

Ranger- Ranged combat support, duel wield in combat.

Ralanr
2015-04-16, 10:12 AM
What's the party composition?

j_spencer93
2015-04-16, 10:15 AM
What you mean?

Classes- shown above.
Race- need ideas.
Everything else- need ideas.

Ralanr
2015-04-16, 10:26 AM
What you mean?

Classes- shown above.
Race- need ideas.

Sorry I didn't notice the plurals.

There are several guides for these classes All lined up with each other here (http://www.giantitp.com/forums/showthread.php?377491-Guides-Tables-and-other-useful-tools-for-5E-D-amp-D)

Though in all honesty they don't need to be optimized. Let them think of concepts first and work off from there.

-Jynx-
2015-04-16, 10:30 AM
What you mean?

Classes- shown above.
Race- need ideas.

Are you using standard 27 point buy for them or are they rolling for stats? That will change racial recommendations a bit.

I'm partial to Goliath as a race for Barbarian (The damage shrug off, the stat+ and the double weight carrying just fit very well with barbarian in my opinion) I'd probably go Totem barbarian taking at the very least the bear totem at first.

For the Ranger I'd probably pull for Human variant for the extra feat? This will heavily depend on what he wants his archetype to be though. BM with a swarm pet is neat, Spell-less ranger can be pretty neat with ranged maneuvers, whether he wants to use a crossbow or longbow can play a part in it as well.

I have no experience in druids so I have no recommendations for that.