PDA

View Full Version : New to 5th Magic Item help

Pandyman
2015-04-18, 11:31 AM
I'm new to 5th edition and I'm making an eladrin arcane trickster rogue. This will be my first official 5th edition game. My DM is allowing us to have one minor magic item and I was wondering if there are any in the current books that some of you might know about that would be a cool item for a Rogue.

Wartex1
2015-04-18, 11:32 AM
Here's a list of all magic items by rarity. The DMG has the statistics.

http://donjon.bin.sh/5e/magic_items/

Giant2005
2015-04-18, 11:34 AM
A Cloak of Elvenkind would pretty much guarantee success at every stealth check you make.

Pandyman
2015-04-18, 11:43 AM
A Cloak of Elvenkind would pretty much guarantee success at every stealth check you make.

That might be what i go with. It makes sense thematically and it's optimal.

Santra
2015-04-18, 02:39 PM
Be warned that some DM's take offense at how powerful the CoE is.

Gnomes2169
2015-04-18, 02:54 PM
I'm not sure that the Cloak of Elvenkind is actually a "minor" magic item. Isn't it rated as rare? When I think "minor," I typically think of an uncommon or purely utility item like a +1 weapon, goggles of identification and a bag of holding/ bag of beans (... okay, maybe that last one isn't so minor, but it is hilarious. :smallbiggrin:)

Wartex1
2015-04-18, 02:55 PM
It's better than the Boots of Elvenkind and its only disadvantage is requiring attunement. However, it seriously should be at least Very Rare.

SharkForce
2015-04-18, 03:08 PM
*shrug* sometimes there is little reason for magic items to be in certain rareness categories. the poster child for this is, of course, the sovereign glue, but it's hardly the only one.

i'd talk to your DM to make sure that "minor" means "uncommon" before making any selection. the cloak of elvenkind is actually a very powerful item in terms of what it does.

Shining Wrath
2015-04-18, 05:44 PM