PDA

View Full Version : 3rd Ed I would like some advice please

ghostfreak24
2015-04-26, 12:34 PM
Hi, I am new to the world of D&D and I would love the assistance of those who have been playing this game longer than I have. I would like some advice on what Prestiege classes would be a great idea to dip in for a ranger following the archer path. My DM has us playing a drow game in the under dark and I felt it would be a good idea to take up archery as we already have more than enough close quarter combat types in our great. I've looked at Order of the Bow and Arcane Archer and I can't help but feel a bit of disappointment at what is presented. Please help, I would really like to be a benefit for my team rather than a liability.

Thanks again and much appreciated.

PaucaTerrorem
2015-04-26, 02:43 PM
Do you know what books are allowed/banned?

Biffoniacus_Furiou
2015-04-26, 03:36 PM
Order of the Bow Initiate in CW is terrible, because you only get the bonus damage when you use a standard action to make an attack, which only gets you one attack for the round. You have to spend a full attack action to make multiple attacks and to use rapid shot, and a full-round action cannot be coupled with a standard or move action (http://www.d20srd.org/srd/combat/actionsInCombat.htm#fullRoundActions). So you're stuck either gaining that extra damage, or making multiple attacks, and in most cases you would be better off making multiple attacks. It can't even be combined with another attack that takes a standard action, such as Multishot, because you have to pay a separate standard action for each of those.