PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Integrating background and gameplay.

ArlethVann
2015-04-29, 07:27 AM
Hi everyone, first post so go easy ;)

I'm a fairly new DM and I started playing with a group of people who, like myself hadn't played before, so I started fudging most of the rules to get things moving. However, now we have all learnt them, I've been able to plan out adventures a little better, but with this slightly more formal style (my side of the screen at least) I've found it difficult to find ways to convey stories or background about their world to them that re important to the plot without resorting to a random NPC launching into a tale. How could I allow my players to piece together the story, both for flavour and to help them understand the bad guy.

Thanks in advance for any advice :)

Dolour
2015-04-29, 07:32 AM
have your players get a hold on some note, either sent from the BBEG to his lakkais or the other way round...
diaries or some other document outlining parts of the evil plot, or revealing the collaboration of npc X,
whos allways been suspiciously helpful to the party...
have your "named encounters" spew the usual evildoers "thats how im goina take over the world" speech at them...

no1 reason the badguy fails: the nale thing.
if the bad guys ever figure to stick with "kill them allready and stop spoilering our plan" were all doomed. :p

just dont be affraid something could be TOO cliche, in fact (unless its a total overdose) the moar the better. ;)

ArlethVann
2015-04-29, 07:42 AM
Thanks very much :)

Although I was more thinking of revealing the BBEG's motivations and backstory more than his plan.

Dolour
2015-04-29, 08:02 AM
well its not mutually exclusive.
just pack some personal reasoning into sayd speech, have documents point out events of the past thatll peace togeather etc...
have the party stumble over an npc who allready had to deal with the BBEG and sheds some light on the plot/reasoning.

Surpriser
2015-04-29, 08:08 AM