PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Medieval landlords in cities?

Dr TPK
2015-05-08, 12:34 AM
I'd need some historical advice for my pseudo-medieval game (3.5. Greyhawk).

One of the PCs wanted to buy a property in a large city, one of the few metropolises. I said that he can buy the property, but renting the property is allowed only to the members of nobility. This was accepted without any hassle or argument, but I wanted to search more about the subject. Unfortunately, I wasn't able to confirm or invalidate my idea. Can you help me?

Worgwood
2015-05-08, 01:12 AM
Not that I'm an expert, but as far as I understand (again, not an expert), in a medieval/feudal society, property was associated with title/status, and you might need permission to buy from the ruling lord if you're not buying from him directly.

Certain property might also come with a family associated with it, who become your dependents - they pay you a portion of whatever it is they produce or earn as tax, and in return your'e responsible for their protection. Basically, the property comes with renters attached. Some of that might also go to the ruling lord (in this case the lord of the city).

Since your player owns the property, he's probably got some status associated with that. If not, I don't see any reason why he wouldn't be able to rent it, as long as he's cutting the ruling lord a share - if he's making money, they're making money too.

Editing for clarity and brevity.

Vitruviansquid
2015-05-08, 01:39 AM
There is no standard medieval European policy on holding land in cities, as medieval Europe is a large time/place with a lot of heterogeneity in governance and separate cultures with their own traditions.

It was a thing for some cities to be directly beholden to the monarch alone and exist outside of the feudal structure, it was a thing for cities to exist within the feudal structure, and it was a thing for cities to be completely independent.

Storm_Of_Snow
2015-05-08, 06:54 AM