PDA

View Full Version : Custom Race OK? Thoughts?

Rookwood
2015-05-13, 01:23 AM
I want to run a D&D 3.5 (or pathfinder, depends.) homebrew campaign and have a cool idea for a race, however, I'm new to DMing (just started second campaign, first one lasted 7 levels.) and would probably over power it. I want a heavily themed and specialized race designed around fighting Abberations, Fiends and Undead that were bred and grown by human wizards to fight unnatural enemies. This is what I have (First draft):

+2 Str, +2 Dex, +2 Con, +2 Wis, -4 Cha
Combat Speciality: +2 Insight bonus to AC, attack rolls, damage rolls, Spell DCs and all saves related to Abberations, Outsiders (Evil) and Undead and effects created by them whether they be natural, supernatural, spell-like, spells, psi-like, or psionic powers.
Forbidden Knowledge: +4 on all knowledge checks related to Abberations, Evil Outsiders and Undead. Knowledge (Arcana), Knowledge (Religeon) and Knowledge (The Planes) become Class Skills.
Advanced Weapon Training: Gain Weapon Finesse, Two Weapon Fighting and Gigantic Weapon eats for free.
Mortal Defence: Immune to mind affecting effects, death effects, ability drain and energy drain. Also, they heal ability damage at a rate of 1 point per hour.
LA: +2

So what are your thoughts?

meltodowno
2015-05-13, 06:43 AM
Firstly you might want to put the 3.5 tag on the post to increase traffic.

Secondly - yeah the laundry list of blanket immunities makes this way OP.

ezkajii
2015-05-13, 08:18 AM
This is fine, especially at LA+2.

Combat Speciality: +2 Insight bonus to AC, attack rolls, damage rolls, Spell DCs and all saves related to Abberations, Outsiders (Evil) and Undead and effects created by them whether they be natural, supernatural, spell-like, spells, psi-like, or psionic powers.