PDA

View Full Version : I'm managing a campaign (3.5) for the first time and I have a few questions!

Tibs
2015-06-05, 10:55 PM
Hello! I've been a forum lurker and OotS fan for years but just made an account today! I'm DMing a 3.5 campaign and I've never done it before. I'm familiarizing myself with the rules (only using core rulebooks) and I could use some advice from those more experienced in tabletop RPGs. I also have a few questions as I absorb everything!

I understand that when a character reaches -1 hp they fall unconscious and when they reach -10 hp, they die. Does this rule apply to everything in the game, or just the player characters? For example, as one of my group's first encounters I'm having them face some Small Monstrous Centipedes. Do the Centipedes also die at -10, or at 0? Page 135 of the PH does not say, so I can only assume that this rule is true for everything.

Like I said, I'm new at all this and could use any beginner advice you have to offer!

Story
2015-06-05, 11:09 PM
It applies to most creatures, but Undead, Constructs, and Swarms die at 0hp rather than -10. Also, there's various abilities such as Diehard and Delay Death that can complicate things.

At any rate, knocking someone unconscious is almost as good as killing them since you can just Coup De Grace everyone after the battle unless they have regeneration or something. If you want to speed up combat, just treat the enemies as dieing at 0 and assuming you did the cleanup afterwards.

jiriku
2015-06-05, 11:22 PM
Welcome to the forums!

To expand on the advice that Story gave, in some groups, players may be tempted to fall into in-character arguments about the relative morality of dispatching unconscious opponents after a battle. If that's not your cup of tea, it's a convenient houserule to say that all enemies reduced to negative hit points are dead unless the PCs were wanting to capture them.