PDA

View Full Version : DM Help New GM -- Running adventures in towns with a secret?

JenBurdoo
2015-07-06, 06:41 AM
Hi, long time lurker, first-ish time poster here. I'm actually a teen librarian who has just started a fantasy campaign at work with total newbies. Unfortunately, I'm a total newbie at GMing and could use some help building adventures quickly... Ruleswise, I'm cheating and using Tracy Hickman's incredibly rules-lite XD20.

The party has just investigated a Guard tower outside a border town and fought off the orcs who took it over. Two of the characters had a pre-adventure where they fought a large wolf. The overarching plot is that the orcs and wolves are planning to invade the land together, as in The Hobbit -- the tower was a a scout party and the wolves are just ... increasing in number. I'm thinking that the party will be asked to take this knowledge to the king and on their journey they will run into further evidence of wolf and orc secretive-presence. What I'm looking for here is a way to run an adventure in which they stay the night in a town that has been quietly taken over by a werewolf.

He perhaps eats the mayor and sets himself up in the inn, where he fobs off the party as the staff actively avoids him but doesn't dare tell the players; but when they stay the night, they learn something is going on. Besides the obvious clues on his person, what can I do to have them puzzle out the situation and eventually encounter him? Should they hear a scream and investigate?

Thanks for any thoughts!

Keltest
2015-07-06, 06:48 AM
So first, some questions. The town knows he is a werewolf and is prevented from speaking out due to fear, correct?

Secondly, is this a "Full moon" werewolf or a "whenever he wants" werewolf?

Is he in league with the orcs and wolves or is he coincidental?

What does he want with the party?

What incentive does the party have to stick around and deal with this rather than carry on with their important mission?