PDA

View Full Version : Pathfinder Advice for an Overlord Base Class

Prehysterical
2015-07-14, 11:39 AM
A while ago, I started drawing up ideas for a new Base Class in the style of the Overlord from the game series of the same name made by Triumph Studios. However, I do have a few stumbling blocks that might need addressing before continuing further. If some of the more crunch-inclined Playgrounders could give me some pointers, I would appreciate it.

Being the Overlord calls for having lots of minions. However, classes like Summoner are castigated for breaking action economy during combat. Would it be better for an Overlord to have one extremely competent minion (like a cohort) or is there some way to streamline the group? Perhaps the application of swarm rules?
I envision Overlords receiving free magical artifacts as they level up that include a gauntlet, a helmet, a suit of armor, and a martial weapon of some kind. These items would have bonuses that specifically to buff Overlord abilites and defenses. Would this break WBL too hard?
After Overlord 2, I thought about having two different spell lists to specialize the Overlord based on the player's play style. Domination focuses on crowd control and buffing minions. Destruction is your standard "blow everything up" list. However, once the decision is made, it cannot be changed. Is that too restrictive? I feel like there needs to be some tax for being able to cast spells from the Overlord list in heavy metal armor without risk of spell failure.
I'm debating whether to include minion sacrifices to enchant arms and armor as either a base class feature or as an archetype benefit. The minion's sacrifice would lower the cost of the enchanting, but it would something like a week or a month to find new minions after that. Any thoughts?

I'm sure that I will have other questions, but this seems like a good start.

NeoSeraphi
2015-07-14, 12:13 PM