PDA

View Full Version : Exalted Question about Unnatural Mental Influence

Kythorian
2015-07-22, 06:51 PM
So I am fairly new to Exalted, but from reading the core book, most of the unnatural mental influence charms seem pretty much worthless. Given that anyone can spend willpower to automatically successfully resist mental influence and unnatural mental influence is obvious...why would anyone ever not? So charms like Worshipful Lackey Acquisition, for example, might seem like a powerful charm, but anyone can spend a willpower to resist its influence for an entire day. And given that if you don't spend willpower you are a slave for that day, I have trouble seeing anyone deciding not to go ahead and really focus on resisting.

This turns the rather expensive charm into no more than a method of forcing someone to use a willpower every day resisting until the charm runs out. Though really, you would probably have to keep them imprisoned or just outright kill them anyway, because otherwise surely they are going to tell someone you are trying to control their mind, making the entire charm worse than useless. I guess with the exception of if you have already drained all of their willpower, but that seems extremely difficult given that even at best you can only force someone to use two willpower from social combat in a given scene anyway.

And this applies to virtually all of the unnatural mental influence charms. As long as someone can just spend willpower to ignore your charm with 100% success, it seems like its almost never going to actually be worth using. Am I misunderstanding how this works?

TheCountAlucard
2015-07-22, 07:21 PM
So I am fairly new to Exalted, but from reading the core book, most of the unnatural mental influence charms seem pretty much worthless.Quite the opposite.