PDA

View Full Version : Goblins, hobgoblins and XP

mebyon
2007-05-03, 04:14 AM
Please excuse my naiveté, but I am slightly confused:
I have very little experience of D&D (only got any from playing Baldur’s Gate and reading this comic!)
In that game (and backed up by the fount of all knowledge: Wikipedia: Hobgoblin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hobgoblin_%28Dungeons_%26_Dragons%29)
Goblins are the weaker, smaller cousins of Hobgoblins…

...However...

In the early comics, where the Order are fighting to get to Xykon, they have to fight Goblins all the way and they all seem to gain XP from killing them.
They only appear to level up once in the story (where Belkar takes a level in Barbarian)… So how come in strip #439 Haley says that Belkar won’t get any XP from killing a mountain of hobgoblins. Please explain! Is it because he has levelled up more than I remember and if so at what point do you stop getting XP? I would’ve thought that an army of low level units would pose more of a problem for our heroes than one or two big monsters!

Hope you folks can help…

Threeshades
2007-05-03, 04:30 AM
Please excuse my naiveté, but I am slightly confused:
I have very little experience of D&D (only got any from playing Baldur’s Gate and reading this comic!)
In that game (and backed up by the fount of all knowledge: Wikipedia: Hobgoblin (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Hobgoblin_%28Dungeons_%26_Dragons%29)
Goblins are the weaker, smaller cousins of Hobgoblins…

...However...

In the early comics, where the Order are fighting to get to Xykon, they have to fight Goblins all the way and they all seem to gain XP from killing them.