PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Starting Age - How do you handle abuse?

pwykersotz
2015-08-09, 11:08 PM
I get asked questions like this a lot. "I'm an elf and I'm 400 years old. I've got proficiency in blacksmithing. Can I have been making a sword every month for the last 380 years and sell them? Or just outfit the entire party with the several suits of fullplate I've made and tons of weapons?"

My answer is generally no, though occasionally I'll let them provide some party resources. I can manage the mechanics, but my imagination isn't extending to justifying the reason. My basic thought process is the longer lived races aren't human and don't try to cram as much into a short period of time like us short-lived folk. They are less curious, less ambitious, less afraid of death. But this is difficult to articulate to a person who doesn't want to see it.

So that being said, does anyone have any in-game ways to explain why the races with longer lives can't/don't abuse their starting age?

strangebloke
2015-08-09, 11:26 PM
Why would you start making swords at 20 when you can just spend a couple hundred years playing music and hanging out with your friends while you live off of your parent's stuff?

So yeah, your explanation works. Also, just play the 'why?' game. Why is this blacksmith saving all of this money? Why did he start working at such a young age? How did he come to own his own blacksmith shop while still a child? Why do people go to him and not the ancient, crotchety elf who's been making weapons for centuries?

If he's living among humans... these don't stick as well. But then you can just play the racism card.

Really this isn't a table problem, its a player problem.

Scarab112
2015-08-09, 11:39 PM