PDA

View Full Version : A new character

Phoenix1664
2015-08-20, 05:31 AM
Hey all right i am still quite new to picking characters and working out long progression. To that end does anyone have some ideas for me to make a new character i am trying to do different things each time the first time i was a ranger but didnt play it much. i am currently playing as a dwarf crusader that i am going to have as a damage absorbing tank.

For the one we are going to start soon i would like to be a pure damage dealer but still some kind of melee character. I did look at monks and so on but i could not decide where to go. Also there is no homebrew stuff allowed and we are using 3.5e,

The DM has said that the new campaign with start at lvl 6 with 9000 gold to build your character and get equipment. any ideas are welcome just need some pointers and a bit of direction.

I have also been looking is psychic characters like the psychic warrior and so on.

Kol Korran
2015-08-20, 05:40 AM
I suggest to do the following first:
- ask the DM what is the setting you're playing it like - is he using a published setting or his own world, What's the take on races, classes, politics, power groups, religion, magic and so on. Get a feel of the world...
- ask the DM what kinda of campaign is this going to be-all high magic heroics, gritty survival, political struggles, mostly in dungeons, mostly in the wild... set up expectations...
- ask the other players what sort of characters they intend to play. Try to build a group that can work together, both mechanically, but also epilepsy wise. I really suggest to try building characters together, a understand experience!

then think of a class and so on, let the former steps inspire you first...

lhilas
2015-08-20, 06:06 AM