PDA

View Full Version : Troubles with a GM

Chijinda
2015-08-22, 11:23 PM
General Background: I've been playing a game of Dark Heresy for almost two years. This is our GM's first attempt at playing any kind of Tabletop RPG, but he's been doing it well enough. But in somewhat recent events I've run into a small issue with him, that I have been keeping under wraps for the most part, as I don't want to make a scene. In an attempt to keep this brief, I'll sum it up:

Our group was trying to hunt down a traitor Psyker. Said Psyker, hunting a daemonic artifact our group possessed, launched an attack on our group's ship, while half the party was away. He was able to tear through most of our forces with little difficulty but had gotten briefly stalled however, at a warded door that had been set up to keep the artifact sealed away. My character was the only one around to stop him (as the only other party member at the base was attempting to organize a proper counter-attack, and had instructed my character to follow him and keep tabs on what he was doing).

While I could have simply sat back and let the Psyker break through the wards, steal the artifact and be gone before the counterattack could be launched, I decided it would be far more in-character for my character to at least make an attempt at stalling this enemy, especially considering the Psyker in question had murdered someone very important to my character, right in front of his eyes. So, to buy a bit more time for the counterattack to arrive, my character approached him, and after stalling him for awhile with conversation was forced into a fight with this Psyker, that I, my character, and pretty much everyone at the table, knew was essentially an Ascension level Primaris Psyker. Ie. This was a guaranteed "lost fate point" scenario.