PDA

View Full Version : Magic Shadow Monk

Shojiteru
2015-09-16, 11:25 AM
I was looking through the magic items list for my monk. Only thing I could find was the bracers of defense, cloak of protection, and weapon of warning. I figured they would go well but then I realized there was no offense. Looking at level 20 and hitting averages of 23, my own calculations. I figured I could just make robes that give +3 ac and warning feature like wow but only on self. Also, the top would give +3 to unarmed strikes and do extra 1d4 force. Are they too much? This is my first time and I don't like how weak monks are in front combat. 4 attacks are overestimated. Run in, Srrike twice, Shadow step. Then Shadow step in, 2 hits, 70' run away. Wrong tactic for Shadow? With 23 ac and like 120 could get hit once or twice max.

R.Shackleford
2015-09-16, 11:28 AM
I was looking through the magic items list for my monk. Only thing I could find was the bracers of defense, cloak of protection, and weapon of warning. I figured they would go well but then I realized there was no offense. Looking at level 20 and hitting averages of 23, my own calculations. I figured I could just make robes that give +3 ac and warning feature like wow but only on self. Also, the top would give +3 to unarmed strikes and do extra 1d4 force. Are they too much? This is my first time and I don't like how weak monks are in front combat. 4 attacks are overestimated. Run in, Srrike twice, Shadow step. Then Shadow step in, 2 hits, 70' run away. Wrong tactic for Shadow? With 23 ac and like 120 could get hit once or twice max.

What's the break down of your character? Also don't forget about flurry of blows, there hits for a ki.

Also stunning fist, use stunning fist.

Shojiteru
2015-09-16, 12:15 PM
Stunning fist is very ki consuming. Also, I can't do flurry if I want to Shadow step out of range every turn, giving advantage on first hit every other turn. More survivability but less party friendly since they're getting hit.