PDA

View Full Version : Homebrew Creation Advice?

Draconium
2015-10-05, 02:01 PM
I was recently thinking about homebrew, and I thought it might be fun to try and create some myself. However, I've never done it before. So I thought that, before I went about this, I would see if I could ask for advice on how to create and balance homebrew.

If it matters, I usually play D&D 3.5, so that's what most, if not all, of my homebrew would be based around.

Solaris
2015-10-05, 03:47 PM
Like it says in the DMG, it's best to start small and do little replacements - like swapping a paladin's smite evil for the ranger's favored enemy, for example, or the dwarf's bonuses against goblins, orcs, and giants for bonuses against aberrations. You can get a lot of mileage out of mix-and-match class features to create a 'new' base class or 'new' race.

The Tier System (http://brilliantgameologists.com/boards/index.php?PHPSESSID=58o322d9v134s8nh16o6n9upn6&topic=5293) and how it works is a good thing to know for making classes. More important than the 'what' is the 'how' and 'why' - you need to know how the game works before you can start tinkering with it, after all.

Of course, given the nature of D&D 3.5E, it's hard to accidentally make a class that's too powerful unless you're making a full caster.

For creating a race, things like flight that grant extra movement capabilities should be available only to higher levels. That's not to say you can't make a flying race with LA +0, but rather that its flight shouldn't be readily available until about 4th-6th level. If you make something with a high level adjustment, it's going to suffer a deficit of HP that needs either a +4 Constitution bonus or damage reduction (not DR X/magic) and broad-spectrum energy resistance to compensate for the loss of staying power.