PDA

View Full Version : Homebrew Class/Race/Origin, suggestions/constructive criticism welcome

lonedrow1
2015-10-05, 07:32 PM
Hey guys, recently getting back into D&D 5e after a long break.

Anywho, my DM has opened up the option for people at our table to create custom Races and Origins. We aren't using them yet, we are doing an introductory campaign to get everyone up to speed on 5e, but we will do a play-test campaign afterwords to see if any of the custom stuff we make is worthwhile to keep (balanced, flavorful, etc.). This is my first time doing this, so I was fairly excited throughout the endeavor. I am largely interested in an analysis on how balanced these things are, if they appear to be fun to play, if it steps on the toes of existing classes, and so-on.

Funny thing, my DM is allowing only me to make classes. So, I come to you guys to ask for your opinions on what I have created. The files are formatted similarly to the D&D 5e PHB, though I use Open Office so formatting might not transfer properly into Word.

https://www.dropbox.com/s/ix7yfznecv73ly5/New%20Race%20Origin%20and%20Class.zip?dl=0

It isn't in the file, but the class gains the ability at 11th level to treat its natural weapon attacks as magic damage to overcome resistances and immunities. That is the only difference, however.

Here is a brief overview of what I have created (names subject to change, not sure if I am happy with them):