View Full Version : Master Thrower Question

2007-05-21, 04:50 PM
Is there an official ruling on the use of the Master Thrower's Palm Throw with Sneak Attack? If so, what is it?

2007-05-21, 04:54 PM
The errata for Complete Warrior says Sneak Attack only applies once.

The master thrower’s palm throw ability counts as a volley attack, and only one instance of precision-based damage applies to the attack roll.

2007-05-21, 05:06 PM
In short, there's no real reason to use it, save perhaps as a poison delivery system.

2007-05-21, 05:44 PM
In short, there's no real reason to use it, save perhaps as a poison delivery system.

Mm.. Indeed.

2007-05-21, 05:53 PM
Or if you have significant non-precision sources of bonus damage. For example, bonus damage from Power Throw (Power Attack for thrown weapons, ignores weapon size) would apply to each of the two weapons. Combine this with the Master Thrower's Weak Spot ability so you can still hit even with a large penalty sunk into Power Throw, and you can put out some impressive damage totals.

2007-05-21, 06:30 PM
Palm Throw is good with Blood in the Water, as well as the Swashbuckler's Int to damage.


2007-05-21, 07:22 PM
simply put wounding shurken = win with palm throw. If you have two weapon fighting and a full attack bonus then at level 10 (when you have the weak spot) you can throw 8 wounding weapons which pretty much ends an encounter and if you can get them flatfooted (ring of Invis) you prettymuch auto hit.

It is not a subpar ability only real down side is you need more weapons thus upping the price of play the thrower.

2007-05-22, 05:29 AM
If you can flank your opponent while weilding a throwing weapon, eg, you are also a whisperknife, all your volley attacks get the benefits of SA. Yummy