PDA

View Full Version : New DM needs help

GladiusVCreed
2015-10-14, 02:42 PM
Okay, so I am new to D&D (Have been playing off and on for a year, more off than on)
I liked the game, and so I began to make a spin off using an old D&D Masters Guide and Players Handbook, also a Monster Manual. I am a DM of a family game, and I'm a little confused about how high some AC classes go. I know I should not pit my level 1 family against the likes of an Adult Red Dragon or an angel (I looked up an Angel on the dndwiki). The Astral Deva has an AC of 29? As I have been playing so far (Very much my own style and rules, I based it off D&D but it does not follow it completely) we use a 1d20 on Attack rolls. I know there are things that feed into that roll, but am I missing something on how AC works?

Honest Tiefling
2015-10-14, 02:59 PM
Are you adding in Base Attack Bonus, Feat bonuses and magical weapon bonuses? Sir Boris the Strong and Fair, a 14th level fighter, has a base attack bonus of 14. Let's give him a +3 weapon for simplicity, bumping that up to 17. He'll have Weapon Focus and Greater Weapon Focus, bringing us up to 19. Add in a strength modifier of +5 (Assuming he's got 20 strength, which for the level is a mite weak), and then we got an attack bonus of 24.

Or, 14 (BAB) + 1 (Weapon Focus) + 1 (Greater Weapon Focus) + 3 (+3 Magical Weapon) + 5 (Strength Modifier) = 24, which will reliably hit that thing.

Also keep in mind that good aligned monsters are sometimes stronger, because back then, evil campaigns weren't always considered when building. They're not usually meant to be attacked, particularly in 3.5. Don't look at them (unless you have a really fun family that does evil really well together), look at the evil guys for a better idea of what is expected.

Red Fel
2015-10-14, 03:06 PM
First off, you probably want to move this to the relevant subforum. The mechanics vary between, say, AD&D, D&D 3.5, D&D 5e, etc.