PDA

View Full Version : Player Help Storm Character?

Pocket_Sand
2015-10-17, 01:28 AM
Hey guys, so I'm still rather new to D&D, and after quite a few adventures I lost my first character, a Druid that was level 13. So, I'm looking to make a new character, and while i was looking through some of the characters and i noticed the Stormsinger as a Bard. Is it any good? Currently our party is a Duskblade, Sorcerer, Warblade, Druid (friend died too, decided to replace mine), Warlock, and a Cleric. Is a Stormsinger particularly useful or fun, and if we're dungeon diving, will he become useless if he's in those places?

Also to clarify, i just kinda want something that can do cool things like control weather and use lightning and stuff to injure targets.

Vaern
2015-10-17, 04:19 AM
Stormsinger looks like it could be fun. As a mid-to-high level bard you'll always end up with more uses of bardic music than you can reasonably use in a day... adding a few extra abilities to help burn off some of your daily uses makes it almost like having a second spells known/spells per day list.
The class definitely fits the bill for a weather-controlling character. Keep in mind when using the thunderstrike abilities that they're supernatural rather than spell-like, so they aren't subject to being negated by spell resistance or spell immunity. Always a nice perk to have.
You wouldn't see much of the effects of the control weather ability if you're often stuck in dungeons, but all of the other effects should work just fine. Most of the abilities emanate from you. Storm of Vengeance may be a bad idea, though... Your party will most likely not appreciate it if you summon a 360-foot-radius storm cloud to flood a 40-foot-square room with acid and hail.

Crake
2015-10-17, 06:59 AM