PDA

View Full Version : Cohort healer

killingfish
2015-10-19, 01:23 PM
Im looking to build a Cohort whos main priority is to heal, buffing is welcome. however i am new to D&D and have only really played a fighter.
The cohort can be any class LA +0 +1 apart from the things with wings.
The Cohort will start at lv 5, the party is now lv 9 (i just have bad charisma, but taken leadership to fill in a feat gap)
Please can someone help a noob :)
might be a bit hard but a decent ac would be nice as ik most healing spells are touch not ranged

carrdrivesyou
2015-10-19, 02:38 PM
You may wish to look at the Healer from the Miniatures handbook. I think there is a prestige class in there called combat medic that could be uesful.

Other than that, you could try a Cloistered cleric of Pelor and eventually take him up the route of radiant Servant of Pelor in later levels. (see complete divine)

Just my thoughts here,
-Carr

2015-10-19, 02:51 PM
Cleric, Bard, and Druid from Core can be pretty good. Artificers are good if they can make Wands of Cure Light Wounds/Vigor (I don't recall if they can or not).

ranagrande
2015-10-19, 03:50 PM
Adepts, Archivists, Ardents, Artificers, Bards, Clerics, Druids, Favored Souls, Healers, Mystics, Shamans, Shugenjas, and Spirit Shamans all make good healers.

The Artificer is probably the best at everything, but not until level 7 when the get Craft Wand.

The best healer/buffer at level 5 will be the Archivist, but those can be a lot of work, especially if you're not used to casters.

Quertus
2015-10-19, 04:23 PM
Being new... yet wanting to take leadership and run 2 characters? One of them almost certainly a spellcaster? I'd recommend the easiest, most focused spellcaster you can get for your cohort. And, since he is going to be 4 levels behind the party, I'd recommend making him easy to keep alive.

Human Cleric 5
Items: Full Plate Mail, Large Steel Shield, Holy Symbol, Wand of Lesser Vigor, Wand of Faith Heal, Amulet of Emergency Healing