PDA

View Full Version : Ideas for world building

PandaMaster619
2015-10-27, 02:13 PM
Sorry if this discussion has already been talked about but just couldn't find anything on it.

I'm a new DM and currently running the campaign from the starter set. I was wondering what I'm gonna do when we finish the lost mines of phandalin.

I realized I'm not very good with creating something from scratch, but I've got several ideas, though they're based on actual ideas, just modified or mixed together. So is it ok to borrow ideas (world or situations) from other places like books or movies, or even from other DM's campaigns? I kinda feel bad about taking other peoples ideas.

Ralanr
2015-10-27, 02:20 PM
Sorry if this discussion has already been talked about but just couldn't find anything on it.

I'm a new DM and currently running the campaign from the starter set. I was wondering what I'm gonna do when we finish the lost mines of phandalin.

I realized I'm not very good with creating something from scratch, but I've got several ideas, though they're based on actual ideas, just modified or mixed together. So is it ok to borrow ideas (world or situations) from other places like books or movies, or even from other DM's campaigns? I kinda feel bad about taking other peoples ideas.

Yes. You're free to do what you want with them. If you're trying to make a profit I'd advise against 100% copying. There are no original ideas, it's just how we work with them.

Even if you don't plan on using them, think on them to help with the flow of your creative juices.

Corran
2015-10-27, 03:38 PM
Good artists copy, great ones steal!!! Go on and draw inspiration from any source you can find to make your campaign world more colourful.

Fighting_Ferret
2015-10-27, 04:25 PM