PDA

View Full Version : DM Help The Heist

King of Casuals
2015-11-04, 12:16 PM
So I'm thinking of DMing a one shot game in Pathfinder (the system doesnt really matter, just the theme) in which the players are a group of thieves who are being sent on a mission by an unknown benefactor to steal a very valuable jewel from a private collector's mansion. I'm currently thinking of letting the players approach this challenge from every conncievable angle, including having disguises, a stealthy nighttime raid, and even gathering useful info from a party that takes place the day before.

Seeing how I've never done something like this before, I thought that I should ask the playground for advice.

It should go without saying but I'll say it anyways: If you're one of my players, stop reading now because possible spoilers.

Lord Il Palazzo
2015-11-04, 12:39 PM
I ran a game a year or so ago (my last 3.5 game before 5e came out) that followed a heist model. I'd planned on running it in two sessions (what I have labeled as session 1 took two sessions so the total ended up being three) but there may still be something usable for your one-shot. Feel free to ask any more specific questions you'd like about the game I ran.

Session 1: The players meet with an insider at a magically warded museum who knows that, for a few hours on one night, the wards will be down, but the museum will be crowded because of a dinner party being held there by the (mob connected) noble house that owns the place. While the players have a chance to ask questions and examine a map of the museum, they are also making plans and building their characters as a group. (The idea is that the party will be the right characters for the job, assembled Ocean's Eleven style, not just whatever adventurers the insider found at the bar that night.)