PDA

View Full Version : DM Help How to write a one-page setting intro handout?

Amaril
2015-11-04, 10:16 PM
Within a week or two, I'll be starting a new D&D 5e game with four of my friends. I've DM'd a couple times before, but I'd definitely still describe myself as a novice--this will be my first real attempt at anything like a long-term campaign. I'm using my own homebrew setting, so there's a lot that my players aren't familiar with. I've heard the best way to get a group up to speed on a new setting is with a one-or-two-page leaflet that outlines the most important points, but I've never written anything like that before, and I'm not really sure how to go about it. Can anyone help me? Any advice on what to include, or examples to look over, would be super helpful.

Kane0
2015-11-04, 10:48 PM
Its useful to also make it double as a reference sheet as well as an introduction. Having bullet point lists of important names as well as a one line description will work wonders for people trying to get their heads around all the new names they have to deal with.
Doing the same for any houserules or changes to basic expectations are also important, especially if its something to do with the PCs.
At most you'll want only 2 or three paragraphs, like the blurb on a book. Expect your players to put in the minimal amount of reading unless you know them better than that, and only put in things that you would want to know as a player. Your world comes alive more from you than from your leaflet, but its a great tool after the first session as a reference if you make it so.

Edit: Try a layout something like this:

1. Epic sounding blurb paragraph. This is your hook, and probably the only real fluff text on your page.

2. Minor extrapolation paragraph. Only the most important details, less is more.