PDA

View Full Version : Old World of Darkness?

ilovefire
2007-05-27, 09:49 PM
Allright, I really prefer the Old WoD settings to the New ones. Right now, I'm Storyteller for an IRC Werewolf: The Apocalypse game. This is my first time storytelling for an oWoD setting. Any hints? Tips? For Werewolf in specific, or in general. I'm mixing every other oWoD setting I can get my hands on, though (allready introduced several Mage characters and a Demon), so i'd prefer General Hints.

Indon
2007-05-27, 09:53 PM
Okay, mixing... most of my experience is in Mage, with a bit of shifter stuff, so my contribution will come from there for the most part. Now lessee what I remember...

-Places where magic is difficult (where vulgar magic produces higher paradox) are generally places where the Umbra is thicker. This also corresponds heavily with whatever that thing that harms fae is (the opposite of glamour).

-Mages have three forms of 'resonance', each corresponding with one of the three shifter-gods: Weaver (Static), Wyld (Dynamic), and Wyrm (Primal).

-Weaver associates strongly with technocrats from the Mage books. Wyrm associates with Undead, be it vampires or ghosts, as well as demonically tainted creatures such as Kumo (from ananasi, another shifter book). Oddly enough, I never noticed any particular correlation between the Wyrm and the demons from the Demon book. Wyld associates with mages and fae.

-Don't ask me where mummies, demons, or hunters stand in that schema. No clue.

Dhavaer
2007-05-27, 09:57 PM
I don't really have any experience with that game; I've only read the revised Mage book, but it seemed that the games weren't balanced with each other; a starting Mage could kill a fairly experienced Vampire without a lot of trouble from what I've seen.

2007-05-27, 10:10 PM
My friends and I used to run W:tA all the time.