PDA

View Full Version : DM Help New DM Looking for Feedback

AriLance
2015-11-07, 04:59 PM
As stated, I am seeking some feedback regarding my campaign. I am new to D&D as both a player and as a DM. My friend introduced me and a few other newbies to D&D (he is the only experienced one among us) and has been DMing us for about three months now. We have had about twelve sessions, and so we are all pretty familiar with the rules and mechanics of the game and such. Now, our group right now has our DM, me, and five other players, which comes to a total of six players and a DM. One of our players has a brother and a friend that both want to play D&D (two more newbies), and so our current DM who knew that I had been wanting to run an evil campaign sometime in the future asked me if I wanted to start my campaign a little earlier than planned.

I know that a new player who is DMing for the first time probably should not be running an evil campaign (and probably should not be DMing at all), but I decided to give it a shot. My current DM trusted me enough that I would make a competent DM already, and since he is a seasoned player and DM I trust his judgement. Another point I should add is that I will be DMing for a large group (about seven players), which I know is also difficult for a new DM to do. I have been given about two weeks preparation time (as have all the players for their characters) to make my first adventure and most of the information I should have at this point. I am down to one week of preparation time, since my first adventure will take place this Friday, November 13th (my dreaded superstitious day, which only adds to my nervousness). I only need to plan for one adventure right now since my second adventure will be sometime in January (with winter break and all), so I do not need to worry about solidifying every detail just yet for my overarching plot and world.