PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Campaign too long, holding interest etc?

Jarmen4u
2015-11-08, 02:32 PM
Hey gitp, it's been a while. I've been running a campaign for about 4-5 months now, and I recently came into contact with a would-be player/friend who had to drop out when I was about to start running. When I told him I was still running the same campaign, he gave me a hard time about it saying that that's too long and he would have lost interest ages ago.

This made me start thinking, as I play over roll20 and it's sometimes hard to gauge my players' excitement, mood, and enjoyment of the game. I had an epic length story planned out (they started at 5th level, currently 9th almost 10th and I hope to get them to at least 15th if not higher), most likely ending in drama between deities. They have quite a ways to go, as they're only just starting to realize that there's a bigger picture causing all the things they've experienced so far.

I guess my question is, how long is "too long" for a campaign in your opinion? And how can I as a new DM (this is my first real game) gauge interest and try to keep my game immersive and interesting? I've tried the age-old "just ask your players" but I get a lot of generic "yeah I liked it" and "those NPCs were stupid" feedback, nothing that I can really use. I've requested more specific answers, but they don't have any. What to do?

Belzyk
2015-11-08, 02:36 PM
Ummm idk but I could easily play every weekend for years on the same game without being bored. But that's me. It would all depend on the group

Talion
2015-11-08, 02:44 PM