PDA

View Full Version : Rules Q&A How do wands/rods/staffs work?

Douche
2015-11-11, 12:30 PM
Noob here, I've seen a lot of mentions throughout different editions on this forum and in campaign journals, but I never understood how they work.

What are the requirements for using a wand/staff/etc?
How do charges work? Is the wand rendered useless when you run out, or can you recharge it? How would you go about doing that?
Lastly, I heard that you can't craft or buy wands or scrolls anymore. So you just have to rely on your DM to give them to you as loot?

Thanks in advance, and sorry if this is common knowledge but I didn't see anything about it in the PHB, and the internet isn't a very useful source when looking up straight rules and mechanics, in my experience.

hymer
2015-11-11, 12:43 PM

These are noted at the individual items. Anyone can use a Wand of Magic Missile, e.g., but a Staff of of Fire can only be used by a druid, sorcerer, warlock or wizard who has attuned to it.

How do charges work?

Various functions of items have various costs in charges. Every time you use such a function, you reduce the number of charges in the item by the corresponding amount. If that would reduce the amount to less than 0, you can't use that function.

Is the wand rendered useless when you run out, or can you recharge it? How would you go about doing that?

Items with charges tend to recharge over time, as indicated by the item's description. No special action is required. There is a variant rule, in which the number of charges in a wand is higher, but it never recharges.

Lastly, I heard that you can't craft or buy wands or scrolls anymore.

There is a downtime activity which lets you create magical items (DMG p. 128). The DM may or may not allow it.

So you just have to rely on your DM to give them to you as loot?