PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Need help with Enchanter

heavyfuel
2015-11-27, 06:41 PM
This is technically a PF game, but the subject is broad enough that 3.5 players might be able to help.

So, for the first time ever I'm DMing for an Enchanter, focused almost exclusively on Enchantment spells, and I have a dilemma.

Most of his spells are way, WAY too subjective, and require an insane amount of DM purview. For example, the "Sow Thought" spell is either insanely good, or utterly useless depending on how much lenience the DM gives.

If he sows into a 2HF an idea like "I should attack them from range", this single level 1 spell completely took 1 character out of combat, as his ranged damage is ridiculous. On the other hand, if the NPC thinks mind-altering is at play, the spell is useless.

Same goes for Charm Person, which presents similar issues.

As this is my first time dealing with an enchanter, how do you make it so that his spells aren't so "Save or suck", but are still useful?

elonin
2015-11-27, 07:24 PM
That's one of the problems with enchanter. Pathfinder is a bit better in this regard cause while it is still difficult to get past resistances at least it is possible. Meaning that mindblank grants a bonus vs mind affecting instead of being an automatic immunity. Also, from your request you mentioned charm person. In order to stay relevant you'll want to switch to charm monster or dominate monster when possible.

heavyfuel
2015-11-27, 08:29 PM
That's one of the problems with enchanter. Pathfinder is a bit better in this regard cause while it is still difficult to get past resistances at least it is possible. Meaning that mindblank grants a bonus vs mind affecting instead of being an automatic immunity. Also, from your request you mentioned charm person. In order to stay relevant you'll want to switch to charm monster or dominate monster when possible.

I think you missed me mate. I'm the DM, player is the enchanter.

Urpriest
2015-11-27, 09:09 PM