PDA

View Full Version : Multiclassing: Once a class skill, always a class skill

Eladrinblade
2015-12-05, 05:55 AM
How many of you were aware that if a skill is ever a class skill, it always is and has max ranks equal to CL+3?

This means a rogue 1/fighter 19 can have 23 ranks in search, disable device, open lock, and UMD.

I've been playing since 2001 and I just learned this. It blew my mind. Class roles just got blown wide open for me.

Amphetryon
2015-12-05, 06:19 AM
How many of you were aware that if a skill is ever a class skill, it always is and has max ranks equal to CL+3?

This means a rogue 1/fighter 19 can have 23 ranks in search, disable device, open lock, and UMD.

I've been playing since 2001 and I just learned this. It blew my mind. Class roles just got blown wide open for me.

Of course, it would cost 8 Skill points for the Character in question to pay for those Skills at every level except 1st, assuming this is listed in order. As the Fighter chassis comes with only 2 + INT in 3.5, that's rather prohibitively expensive.

OldTrees1
2015-12-05, 08:08 AM

IIRC only the class skill rank cap is kept. Fighter still has to pay the cross class skill point:rank cost. Hence jumping (buying multiple ranks in each Rogue class skill each time you dip back into Rogue) is often more efficient.

Example of jumping with cross class rank buying:
Fighter: 2+Int(say 14) is 4 skill points -> 2 ranks per level
Rogue: 8+Int(still 14) is 10 skill points -> 10 ranks per level
For 4 skills, ever level of Fighter is under by 2 and every level of Rogue is over by 6. Thus adding levels in increments of Fighter 3 / Rogue 1 will keep those 4 skills at maximum ranks.

Âmesang
2015-12-05, 08:22 AM