PDA

View Full Version : Optimization Help needed with a 3.5 cleric

Klorox
2015-12-16, 10:55 AM
Hey everybody. I'm new to 3.5. I played a ton of 1e, 2e, a bit of 3.0, took a long hiatus, and now I love 5e.

Anyway, I just joined a 3.5 game. I want to play a character who can handle himself in combat, but who is a primary spellcaster.

When I quit 3e, I played a dwarf cleric of Haela Brightaxe (Luck/War). I had a ton of fun with this character.

Is that optimal?

Is there a better way to build a fun cleric?

I have the option of using 32 point buy for stats, or rolling in front of the DM (4d6, drop the lowest).

I was reading clerics are a little MAD. What stats are most important for a cleric? If I use point buy, what is a good stat array with 32 points?

IIRC, the cleric I played had a low CHA, and couldn't care less about turning undead (she'd rather slice them in half with her greatsword).

If I switch to a different type of Cleric, I think I'd like to still be a dwarf (or human). I'm not a fan of elves. A cleric similar to Durkon would be cool with me too.

I know it's a lot of questions, but I'm unfamilar with this system.

Thank you so much for helping me!

GilesTheCleric
2015-12-16, 11:17 AM
Hey everybody. I'm new to 3.5. I played a ton of 1e, 2e, a bit of 3.0, took a long hiatus, and now I love 5e. Welcome back to 3.X! Not much has changed from 3.0 to 3.5.

Anyway, I just joined a 3.5 game. I want to play a character who can handle himself in combat, but who is a primary spellcaster.

When I quit 3e, I played a dwarf cleric of Haela Brightaxe (Luck/War). I had a ton of fun with this character.

Is that optimal?
That's a perfectly fine way to build. If your goal is maximizing your weapon damage output, there's additional tricks you can apply with books outside of core, but even just core can be fine for melee.