PDA

View Full Version : Am I too old for a younger generation?

Volomon
2015-12-23, 01:02 PM
I need advise I can't tell if I'm over stepping my bounds.

My background is AD&D, 3.5 and 5th. With a quick look at 4th before retiring that immediately. I have always DMed.

I come to a session as a player. The DM introduces himself as experienced. Including me there is a total of 3 experienced players and two first timers. We all start noticing odd things and I'm quick to give plot holes cover. He's rusty I think, give him time.

An example is overly elaborate descriptions of background NPCs that do nothing. Conversing yields nothing both RP or roll. Laughing guards (enjoying their free time not madness) in a town besieged by blight, raids, isolation, and a curse.

So ok, whats more odd is it quickly becomes apparent that this is going to be linear, aka a railroad campaign. We've humored him by not sidetracking. Talk to a go to b youre trapped you have to go to c.

I've never seen a game so linear in all my life. Including video games. For instance in session 3 (where one should lose their rust) we're in a tower going past the 3rd floor brings you to floor 1. He fought us on going down, I'm not sure why. So I think I'm going to bust out this glass. Too thick. Not, "its magically warded" it's just too thick. I was going to look out get my bearings and maybe rope up. Skip forward through some content. We've been forced to go through a portal or be forced to stay in this magical stair loop aka die. We appear in a room with no exit only a fire place and a "boss". Yup you got it, I fiugred this out in 2 seconds, fireplace is the exit. Guess where it leads a single path to a single hole in the ground a 220ft drop. Well you can guess at this point how it's going. I tell you what it cuts down on map design.

Now that was just to give you an idea. Here's what I actually have issue with.