PDA

View Full Version : Understanding the "Druid" archetype

CountAile
2015-12-25, 10:03 AM
First thing of all: THIS IS A FLUFF QUESTION. I don't have any problems with the crunch of the game, and can optimize pretty heavily by myself, if needed. I've got some troubles with the Druid as a concept.

You know, I've been playing DnD for 10 years, or so, and by this time, I've been able to play almost any class and/or race, including some really bizarre or outright alien options... That is, besides the "almighty Druid".

Mechanically, I understand what he is (that is, a cleric-type class with a nature bond, a badass animal companion and an ability to turn into a bear), and I can understand his naturey tree-hugging ways, to a certain extent - but I still don't get what makes this type of characters "tick".

"Well, you know, he loves nature and stuff" KINDA answers that, but it doesn't help much. "Well, if someone burns his trove, he'll travel to the other side of the world and bite that guy's head off" is a bit better, but I'm not really sure that this default druidy background should apply to every druid adventurer ever. And unlike many other classes (including the most problematic ones, like classic paladins), it looks like the class basically defines who the character is.

So, I'm curious - what makes the Druid archetype tick? How can I make an interesting (both for me AND for everyone else) character who, by definition, would like to shut himself in a forest and put a magic desintegrating fence around to keep people away? (and no, "You can turn into a bear, you can cast "Summon Bear" and you have a bear companion mount, how awesome is that?!" is not an answer - I'm looking into how to UNDERSTAND this type of character, and how to make him playable AND interesting). After doing that, I can understand, how to make an awesome/badass character.

John Longarrow
2015-12-25, 10:30 AM
The class doesn't. Just like the class 'Fighter' or 'Wizard' doesn't.