PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Help finding a high-level meat grinder

Riviera
2015-12-30, 09:59 PM
Lately my players have been feeling too powerful. Wouldn't blame them, they made extremely optimized characters and as a party of 4 lvl 11 characters, they have been easily fighting against CR 18+ encounters. This is not a big deal though, we are all having fun.

They asked me to run a really hard module, one like Tomb of Horrors, so they could see how their 'super-uber' characters would just demolish the adventure. I intend to make them regret this decision. I've been searching for a couple, but I can't seem to find any with a higher level range. Most of them are 9-12 and are simply a walk in the park for these guys.

I have no problem converting from older editions to 3.5, but I'm not good with coming up with a whole adventure from scratch.

Some that I remenber discarting:
Dungeonland seemed too easy. Some already read Tomb of Horrors. Return to the temple of Elemental Evil is too low-level. I can't get my hands on Paladin in Hell where I live. Island of the Ape seems dumb (why not just fly to where the damn ape is and kill it?)

CrazyNoob
2015-12-31, 12:01 AM
Rappan athuk (PC level 1-20) might be a good run, though might end up as a cake walk for level 1-5, 5-15 is ramps up but lots of easy easy easy, then find an OMG moment. Some of the alternate levels such as 3A/3B is a super challenge.. Another challenge is somehow ending up in deeper parts of the dungeon by mistake or poor decisions such as dungeon level 1 can take you to 2, 4 or 9..

ngilop
2015-12-31, 12:31 AM
I do not believe that this is a case of the character being 'to powerful' it sounds like you are not running the combat encounters half decently.

There should be no way a CR 18 creature isn;t 1 round TPKing a party if played halfway intelligently.