PDA

View Full Version : Is getting a "Wish" and using it in "safemode" by quoting the PHB as RAW a good idea?

DiceDiceBaby
2016-01-04, 01:17 AM
I'm new to D&D 5e, but what I found interesting was the "Wish" spell. I've read a lot of threads on these forums with funny stories about it and many hypothetical ones of how to abuse it using the "Simulacrum" spell without the cost, but I'm wondering if anyone out there had a DM that actually allowed someone to make a "Wish" and, instead of asking for something reality warping and allowing the DM to mess with them (ala, an evil genie), actually read the entry of "Wish" in the PHB and was allowed to harmlessly cast an 8th level spell or lower for free.

My idea is that if I were to ever get a "Wish" in my playgroup, I'd probably ask the DM if getting the "Wish" worked the same way as casting the "Wish" spell, as dictated in the PHB. If the DM says yes, then I'd just use the "Wish" in "safemode" or any of the alternates, and ask for a "Simulacrum" of a Warhorse or something (or cast any other 8th level spell or below for free), instead of using the world changing mumbo jumbo and have to write a law school final exam just to make a wish (and still have the DM find some sort of loophole to mess with me).

Any thoughts on this? Has this actually happened to anyone before? Would it kill the spirit and fun of making a wish if I just went all "rules lawyer" on the DM and told him that he couldn't mess with me, since I'm casting the "Wish" in "safemode"? As far as I know, according to the PHB, making a "Wish" only allows a DM to mess with you if you don't opt for any of the "safe" choices and instead ask for something for the DM to interpret, leading to the whole exhaustion and 33% chance of never using it again.

Or is it presupposed that making a wish with a genie/deity/god/demon etc. is completely and mechanically different from casting the "Wish" spell for all intents and purposes?

I wonder what you all think. :smallsmile: