PDA

View Full Version : I miss 3.5 but cant go back

Albions_Angel
2016-01-15, 03:18 PM
Hi all

Im in a bit of an odd situation. Im part of 2 concurrent DnD groups. One started off as a new 5e game, and its left me feeling fairly hollow, which I initially put down to the DM who likes Rule of Cool (and I very much dont). Its not a bad game though and I have a laugh.

My other group, my main group, recently went from 3.5 to 5th. And that cemented it. I dont like 5th. I dont know why, but I just find myself missing things. I miss magic items, I miss real feats, I miss skills and skill tricks, I miss the options I had, I miss flanking, aid another, height bonuses, weapon sizes, a decent selection of enemies. Everything I see in 5th just makes me miss something in 3.5.

Im in my last year of a masters degree at uni, and will be moving Stateside after that to do a PhD. The town I am in currently doesnt have much in the way of a gaming scene. And I kind of dont want to desert either group, who I have grown close to over the last few years.

But Im not enjoying it any more. The group that started with 5th look at me in horror when I recount tales from my 3.5 adventures. "Its too complex", "theres too much maths", "how do you keep track of everything?". Meanwhile, my main group is enjoying the change of pace, a change I actually hate. We went into a scenario at level 1, killed enough stuff, and a tonne of it all at once, so that in any 3.5e game we would be almost at level 3. Only there is no multiplier for facing multiple enemies. So after a bit of a rant, the 5e board pointed out that the xp is correct and we are all still level 1.

Can I point out that in 5th, its so easy to die at low levels that it doesnt just seem common for chars to die, it almost seems like its expected for half the party to roll 2 or 3 characters before the game really gets going?