PDA

View Full Version : DM Help New to the game, kind of - Original adventure (d&d 3.5)

Lord Joeltion
2016-01-29, 10:45 AM
Hi guys, I'm new to d&d and I ended up posting here to see if I could find piece of wisdom. Any advice will be appreciated, I really want to improve and become the Ultimate DM. So, while I'm familiar with d20 systems (and some other systems); I find d&d huge in comparison, and as terrifying as it may be at first, I think it also makes it more enriching and exiting.

My friends asked me to run a "medieval/magic" game, and I saw the opportunity to try D&D. As I was reading the manuals I started taking the first decisions:
-I will restrict the game to the core rule books (PH I and II; DMG I & II; MM I) for simplicity's sake, and also because the other players are totally unfamiliar with d&d. I'm not adding anything outside/contradicting the core rules.
-I will use an original setting. This aims both to be more appealing to my players, and helps me not to get entangled with more new lore (d&d background, specifically).
-I won't track experience.

The last one is one I'm not that sure if it's for the best. I know it can be done, and it certainly will save me a lot of time to me when preparing encounters (and to my players, since they will be doing the math afterwards, lol). The spells and the costs for crafting and the likes, will be patched with special material, and/or special costs. I know the general rule XP=n*5 pg. But I'm not really that sure how the "special material cost" will impact the economy of the world, and that's where I'm in doubt.