PDA

View Full Version : DM Help Evil Campaign

AriLance
2016-02-03, 11:10 AM
I'm DMing an evil campaign with three LE, two NE, and one CE, and it seems like the LE characters are taking over the game. The LE characters want to play the game a certain way but I'm not sure the other three characters are particularly enjoying it.

Does anyone have any specific examples of where to find evil campaign stories? I feel as if I am not running the campaign correctly since this is my first time doing an evil campaign. Can anyone point me to some specific resources and not general advice?

Geddy2112
2016-02-03, 11:25 AM
Pathfinder Way of the Wicked is a very solid evil campaign module-even if you don't want to run it, it has a lot of advice and good scenarios for evil characters.

I don't even think this is an evil problem though-half characters working tightly in unison, and the other players disagreeing but not putting forth unified opposition means the unified half gets their way.

AriLance
2016-02-03, 11:51 AM
Thank you, I will definitely check that module out!

Yes, it is partly because of that as well. The LE party members are the more experienced players, and so I think the new players are intimidated and just following along with it.

Kaveman26
2016-02-03, 02:56 PM
City state of the Enigmatic Overgnome is linked in my signature. Was a shorter pvp heavy evil campaign.

Cattle Driving necromancers is a much more cohesive group evil campaign still on the front page of forum.

Both can be good guides or cautionary tales of evil in action.

Otherwise read the jhereg novels for a good gauge of "evil" stories, author is Stephen Brust. Main protagonist is an assassin and mid level crime boss.

General tips:

If you venture into the players going after one or another then you have to hope they can separate game from real life and not have hard feelings.

Be up to speed on poisons and evil/necro spells

Sredni Vashtar
2016-02-03, 06:43 PM