PDA

View Full Version : Cost to craft help

Glinkle
2016-02-16, 11:41 AM
Hello,

I am relatively new to crafting in 3.5. I believe I have a handle of most item creation costs.

I am playing a artificer and wondering how much it would cost to place a spell into an item for continuous/activated use.

What I am trying to accomplish is I have a regular cloak and want to make it so that when worn and the command word is spoken, I can travel to the ethereal plane.
Similar to cloak of etherealness but for longer than 10 minutes.

I found an equation, Spell level x caster level x 2000 gp x n(below)
If a continuous item has an effect based on a spell with a duration measured in rounds, multiply the cost by 4. If the duration of the spell is 1 minute/level, multiply the cost by 2, and if the duration is 10 minutes/level, multiply the cost by 1.5. If the spell has a 24-hour duration or greater, divide the cost in half

The problem with this is I seem to come up with a bonkers number.
Ethereal Jaunt - Lvl 7 Spell
so 7 * 13 * 2000 *4 = sadface

LTwerewolf
2016-02-16, 11:53 AM
Yes, crafting things with higher level spells gets very expensive very quickly. Your formula is correct.

Glinkle
2016-02-16, 12:00 PM
Yes, crafting things with higher level spells gets very expensive very quickly. Your formula is correct.

Ah okay then, the cloak of etherealness costs something like 19000gp and the above costs something like 900000.

I understand the difference in the item, 10 minutes vs unlimited. Is there any place I can find where I can put mitigating factors on my item, that would reduce the overall cost then?

I need more than 10 minutes that the cloak of etherealness offers, but could do for about 8 hours, or has a chance to fail on activation and unable to activate again for 24hrs etc.

Are there any crafting templates that do this, where I can mitigate costs??

LTwerewolf
2016-02-16, 12:08 PM