PDA

View Full Version : Rules Q&A Transition from 3.5 to 5e

Reynard Loxley
2016-02-23, 05:48 PM
Hello All,

I'm looking at transitioning a long running 3.5e campaign to 5e. For the most part, the classes and races are fine. So are the mundane weapons. My main concern are magic items.

In this world players can but magic items gettin nearly any town, wands, scrolls, magic equipment etc. This is where I feel will be the biggest issue as from reading all the 5e books, magic items are supposed to be rare.

I'm aware i can set up prices for magic items as i wish and use the dmg as a guide, but I'm still learning how the economy works.

If i went down this route then i think there'd be a big break in the world compared to how it's been run for the past 6 or so years. Dies anyone have any experience with this at all? How have you found the transition? Does anyone have any suggestions or guidance at all?

Thank you in advance

Kane0
2016-02-23, 08:42 PM
You can still do that, just be aware that having magic items is a bonus when considering encounters and challenges, rather than semi-expected like in 3.PF

If you need specific magic items translated there are plenty of people and resources to help with that, don't be shy.

My group went from 4e to 5e where we literally had a vault of magic items we had access to, and nigh limitless wealth to purchase what we didn't have already. The 3 attunement rule became a very good limiter on our magic items, forcing us to pick and choose our favorites and rely on more consumables. The power of individual items allowed us to take on some impressive encounters, but for the most part things remain balanced. One thing to look out for are enemies that rely on resistance/immunity to nonmagical weapons for defense, they'll be needing something else if everyone has magic gear.

Malifice
2016-02-23, 09:29 PM