PDA

View Full Version : Masterwork appearance

Britsky
2016-02-25, 01:04 PM
So my current character's shtick is essentially that he's a conman, all about bluff, disguise, acting etc..
I feel our DM is being a tad stingy with the gold, so am looking for more ways to make money in fitting with my character's nature.
So i was wondering, is it ever specified how a masterwork weapon might be distinguished from a normal weapon? Be it by looks, weight, texture or whatnot? Essentially I want to sell weapons to people and have them believe they are masterwork weapons. I expect a smith or a professional weapons dealer would be able to spot it pretty easily, but just a bog standard merchant who doesn't deal or even see weapons that often? (aided by a decent bluff roll of course) How feasible would it be to trick such a person?

And how hard would it be to make a weapon look masterworked if they do differ vastly?

Sorry if this has been asked before, it's my first time, be gentle...

ComaVision
2016-02-25, 01:08 PM
To a bog standard merchant, with decent bluff and sweetening the deal with a "discount" it should work.

Just don't be surprised when the DM has the guards or mercs catch up with you.

Britsky
2016-02-25, 01:12 PM
To a bog standard merchant, with decent bluff and sweetening the deal with a "discount" it should work.

Just don't be surprised when the DM has the guards or mercs catch up with you.

My plan for if I screwed up the bluff, or the merchant was too wise and called the guards over was to try to quickly turn it around and tell the guards "This charlatan sold me this piece of garbage saying it was masterwork, I demand a refund!" Or something along those lines.
Failing that, run.

nyjastul69
2016-02-25, 01:12 PM
A succesull appraise skill roll is all that should be needed to identify it as a master work item.

Telonius
2016-02-25, 01:24 PM
A succesull appraise skill roll is all that should be needed to identify it as a master work item.