PDA

View Full Version : How do you create a character?

Quiver
2016-03-06, 07:26 AM
I'm fairly new to this whole roleplaying malarky, so I figured I should ask: character creation. How do you do it.

More to the point, what is your process for creating good characters? Do you start with an idea and work from that? Work out mechanics then tailor a characterisation and background to explain the skills? Find a cool picture and use that as inspiration?

I don't think the characters I've been creating have been as good as others I've played with. I've been told part of that is just the learning curve; I'm just starting, so it'll take a while to start to "get" it.

But...well, I figured asking people what their character creation process is would help. I tend to try and get better by asking for feedback, but -frankly- I'm concerned doing so about pbp games would either bother people, or come across as whining...neither of which I want. I just want to get better.

...so, yeah. When you guys are creating a character, how do you go about it?

Comet
2016-03-06, 07:37 AM
I'd say that one of the most important things about character creation is trying not to overdo it. You'll have a much better time if you leave some blanks and fill them in as play proceeds and you learn more about the world, your fellow players and their characters. Feel free to improvise, change and adapt as you go on.

I usually create the mechanics first and then imagine what the character would be like based on that. It's a fun creative excercise to work within those limitations. I mostly play games where character creation is largely random, though. If you have more control over the mechanics then you might have more fun trying to come up with an idea first and building the sheet around that.

And finally, to be a bit redundant, work with the other players if you can. It's a lot more fun to creat this stuff as a group and it makes it much easier to feel comfortable with your character during play.