PDA

View Full Version : How to unsuckify the Beastmaster Ranger

Iguanodon
2016-03-10, 06:44 PM
I have an idea for a Beast Master (pure theorycrafting, not for a specific game) and am looking for some feedback. My goal here was to avoid the pitfalls that most players fall into with with archetype. Here it is:

Beast companions often come with a huge logistical cost: They piss of NPCs, they fail stealth checks, they die and make you sad. This concept does away with all of that garbage.

The steps:

Establish your character as a druid-type nature worshipper (or maybe more like a totem barbarian).
Reach level 3. Select Beast Master as archetype.
No matter what environment you are in (even the middle of the city) during your next rest, sit down and meditate, attuning with nearby beasts. Your beast companion will be a swarm of a type depending on your environment: Underdark->bats, urban->rats, forest/badlands->ravens. Swarm of Ravens is the best of the CR 1/4 swarm monsters.
Don't worry about healing your companions or preserving their life at all. Let them die all the time, and play it in character as a "circle of life" kind of deal. If you stick with swarm companions, they can't heal anyway. You'll most likely be reattuning to a new swarm after every combat encounter.

Notes:

The ranger is a fusion of a martial class and the druid. The hunter is more like the fighter, while the beast master is more like the druid; it is NOT the "pet class."
Swarms are not OP; they are balanced according to CR and also cannot heal. If your DM says they are OP then they are flat out wrong. If your DM says that attuning to a swarm is unrealistic, cite your status as a nature-communing outlander follower of the Old Faith. You might have to, for balance reasons, concede that your swarm loses attunement with you if it splits up (this is most relevant for attuned Raven Swarms).